Connect :
News Room
Events & Conferences
content top

GARUDA Network

The GARUDA network is a Layer 2/3 MPLS Virtual Private Network [VPN] connecting selected institutions at 10/100 Mbps with stringent quality and Service Level Agreements. The network has been contracted as a managed service with a peak capacity of 2.43 Gbps across 17 cities. This network is a pre-cursor to the next generation Gigabit speed nation-wide Wide Area Network with high performance computing resources and scientific instruments for seamless collaborative research and experiments.

GARUDA Network Features

  • Ethernet based High Bandwidth capacity
  • Scalable over entire geographic area
  • High levels of reliability
  • High security
  • Effective Network Management


The creation of the National Knowledge Network (NKN) is vital to India’s development, as it will provide transport to all the networks in India by a multi-gigabit, low-latency, OFC-based backbone Core (multiples of 10 gigabit per second). The main design consideration of NKN is to create an infrastructure that can scale and adapt to future requirements.

The National Knowledge Network (NKN) aims to interconnect all research, higher education and scientific institutions through ultra high-speed backbone/data-network communication highway, encouraging sharing of knowledge, specialized resources and collaborative research.

NKN Features

  • High Capacity, Highly Scalable Backbone
  • Provide Quality of Service (QoS) and Security
  • Wide Geographical Coverage
  • Bandwidth from many NLD’s
  • Highly Reliable and Available by Design
  • Common standard platform and Test beds (for various implementation)
  • Dedicated and Owned.
  • Connectivity for International and other global RandD Networks

GARUDA has been now migrated over the multi-gigabit National Knowledge Network (NKN), thereby creating tremendous impact on collaborative research between educational institutions and Research and Development (RandD) organizations across the country.

india_map chandigarh roorke delhi kanpur lucknow varanasi allabad ahmedabad mumbai pune hyderabad kharagpur kolkata guwahati bengaluru chennai thiruvananthapuram

Home   |   Useful links    |   Sitemap    |   Reach C-DAC     
© C-DAC. All rights reserved